1791 – Bill of Rights Ratified


1791 – Bill of Rights Ratified

1791 – Bill of Rights Ratified

Bill of Rights Ratified

Another major event that occurred in 1791 was the ratification of the Bill of Rights, which became the first ten amendments to the Constitution. In 1787, after the Constitutional Convention was recessed, a period of time passed before the creation of the United States government as we know it today. In order for the Constitution to take effect, nine of the thirteen states needed to ratify the Constitution. Unfortunately, only five states did so quickly and willingly. The other eight states had hesitations, as they believed the Constitution gave too much power to the national government and did not provide enough protection for the people. In order to address these concerns, a series of amendments, or changes to the Constitution, were drafted.

These ten amendments, which became known as the Bill of Rights, specifically prevent the United States government from contravening the rights presented therein. Although these amendments could not be added to the Constitution until the Constitution was ratified, a deal was made wherein the Bill of Rights would be immediately presented upon ratification of the Constitution. As such, four more states ratified the Constitution, and it became the law of the land. As promised, the Bill of Rights was immediately presented to and passed by Congress and then, by Constitutional procedure, was sent to the state legislatures for ratification. Although this process took some time, all thirteen states had ratified the Constitution and the Bill of Rights by 1791.


Recent Posts



RSS WFPhoto.biz

RSS Manila News-Intelligencer